HeadWise HeadWise: Volume 4, Issue 4 - Page 8

NHF news What’s Happening Now AT THE FUND RAISER, THE GATSBY GALA – INSPIRING HOPE FOR 45 YEARS, THE NHF PRESENTED THE FOLLOWING AWARDS: The Lifetime Achievement Award: The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a health care practitioner in recognition of an impressive body of work in the field of headache. Previous winners include Roger K. Cady, MD, K. Michael Welch, MB, and Robert B. Daroff, MD. This year’s winner is Timothy R. Smith, MD, R Ph, FACP. Dr. Smith serves as Vice President-Research for the Sisters of Mercy Health System, St. Louis, MO, Clinical Instructor of Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, and Clinical Affiliate Faculty for the Southern Illinois University School of Pharmacy in Edwardsville, IL. A native of Corinth, MS, Dr. Smith received his BS in Pharmacy as well as his MD degree from the University of Mississippi. In 1997, he became involved in headache medicine when he joined the Ryan Headache Center in St. Louis, as Medical Director and Director of Clinical Research. In 2001, Dr. Smith received the CAQ in Headache Medicine from the NHF and, in 2006, a Subspecialty Certification in Headache Medicine from the United Council of Neurologic Specialties. At Mercy, Dr. Smith has research governance and infrastructure responsibilities for the entire health system, including 42 hospitals and 494 medical clinics across four states. In 2010, he received an NHF research grant which enabled him to initiate the country’s first, and now longest-running, tele-headache program. It provides headache specialty care to patients in rural Missouri and Kansas via streaming video technology from Mercy’s Virtual Care Center in St. Louis. Dr. Smith has been an NHF member since 1997, and has served on the Board of Directors since 2010. He currently heads the Certificate of Additional Qualification in Headache Medicine committee, and serves on the long-range planning and research committees of the Board. In 2001, Dr. Smith received the National Headache Foundation Lectureship in Rancho Mirage, CA. HW 8 HeadW ise ® | Volume 4, Issue 4 • 2015 Timothy R. Smith, MD, R Ph, FACP Dr. Timothy Award admiring his award with Dr. Vincent Martin