GPl Archives 10 April 2013 Issue #66 - Page 94

SHANGHAI INTERNATIONAL CIRCUIT FAST FACTS • The nine Chinese Grands Prix held to date at the Shanghai Internatio Hamilton (2008 and 2011) has triumphed more than once. • Only three times has the winning constructor in China gone on to lift (Ferrari 2004, 2007, Renault 2005), and only three times has the wi Alonso 2005, Kimi Räikkönen 2007, Hamilton, 2008). • Defending champions have faired even worse: McLaren’s Jenson But car; Ferrari (2004) are the only defending constructors’ champion to • Ferrari (2004, 2006, 2007) and McLaren (2008, 2010, 2011) share t Shanghai. Red Bull (2009), Renault (2005) and Mercedes (2012) hav • Nico Rosberg’s maiden pole and first victory were the standout perfo works driver to win in the F1 World Championship, following in the fo first (and to date only) victory since returning as a manufacturer in 2 • Rosberg was the first new entry for three seasons on the list of gran back to the German Grand Prix of 2009, won by Mark Webber. Both position, a distinction shared in the current field by Sebastian Vettel and Pastor Maldonado, the latter joining this select group in Spain, t the back of the grid. • Despite SIC providing good overtaking opportunities, only once has 18th to third). • The braking zone for the hairpin at turn 14 sees drivers experience t brakes, the cars decelerate from maximum speed down to around 60 • SIC is built on reclaimed marshland. It is supported by a buoyant po pilings, some of which go 80m deep into the soft earth.The circuit ha work over the years to even out bumps in the track. 2012 2011