GLOSS Volume 2, Issue 7 - 2018 - Page 6

P R O F I L E T Text By Fahad Ahmed he most anticipated awards of the year, Kashmir 6th Hum Awards was one of the biggest award shows of the season, drawing a crowd that filled up the First Ontario Centre, Hamilton, featuring some of the biggest celebrities in Pakistan. It was presented by Kashmir Cooking Oil and Banaspati, sponsored by Golden Pearl Cosmetics, in association with Cadbury Dairy Milk, Eighteen Residential Project and Nestle Lactogrow. Superstars, top-models and socialites were seen hobnobbing at the grand Red Carpet hosted by Ali Kazmi, Ainy Jaffri and Saheefa Jabbar who kept the stars engaged throughout. The star-studded affair not only brought the giants of the Pakistani entertainment industry under one roof but also served as a great platform to showcase the true entertainment value that Pakistan offers. The impressive stage design set the tone of the evening from the word go. The show opened on a high, patriotic note with the stalwarts of the industry, Humayun Saeed, Mahira Khan, Shahid Afridi, Reema and Atif Aslam setting the stage ablaze with Pakistan’s national anthem. Meekal Zulfiqar and Sanam Jung then gave a background of the awards followed by a riveting performance by Ali Rehman and Yasir Hussain to the popular song Chief Sahab. The first awards of the evening were for Best Actor Female Soap and Best Actor Male Soap, presented by Yumna Zaidi and Shahzad Sheikh to Hiba Kadir for Thori Si Wafa, and Arsalan Butt for Naseebon Jali, respectively. The Best Soap award of the year was given to Naseebon Jali for its amazing story and performance and was presented by Zahid Ahmed and Angeline Malik. The evening then kicked off with a mesmerizing performance by Hamza Ali Abbasi, Ahad Raza Mir, Hania Amir, Kubra Khan, and Shaz Khan to the music and visuals of Parwaaz Hai Junoon, a tribute to Pakistan Air Force (PAF). Ali Rehman then introduced the cast of the film and showed the trailer. Sanam Jung was joined by Yasir Hussain in hosting the next segment. They invited Ayesha Sana and a sponsor to present the Best Telefilm award. Malika Junaid received the award on behalf of Momal Entertainment for the telefilm Dil Daryan. The next pair of awards were the Best Supporting Actor and Actress awards. Saheefa Jabbar presented the former alongside a sponsor to Imran Ashraf, while the latter was awarded to Sana Fakhar by Bilal Khan and a sponsor. 28 Bushra Ansari and Ahmed Ali Butt took the stage next with a comedy