GEMA/HS Dispatch Sept 2018 - Page 16

NEW EMA DIRECTORS SHARE THEIR TIPS FOR PREPAREDNESS Q: Story by: Christen Robinson What is one tip you can offer to your residents in preparation for a severe weather-related event? APPLING COUNTY Darrell Holcomb TREUTLEN COUNTY CAMDEN COUNTY CATOOSA COUNTY ema@applingco.com sgtjbridges@gmail.com James Bridges Charles “Chuck” White cnwhite@co.camden.ga.us dennis.thayer@catoosa.com “Don’t ever say it can’t happen here, because it can.” “Listen to the Weather Channel and weather radio if they have one but most of all be aware of their surroundings.” “Stay informed by following Camden County Emergency Management via website, Facebook, Twitter, and regestration via our CodeRED system.” “Stay alert, be prepared to take care of yourself and family if disaster strikes.” BALDWIN COUNTY CHATTOOGA COUNTY WALTON COUNTY SPALDING COUNTY Wayne Johnson Pamela M. Vaughn Brian E. Burgamy Dennis Thayer Glenn Polk wjohnson@baldwincountyga.com cce911pamela@yahoo.com bburgamy@co.walton.ga.us gpolk@spaldingco.com “Go to the GEMA website and download the Ready Georgia App, (in advance). With the broad range of weather here in Georgia, it’s just a lot of information at your fingertips.” “Have a plan, exercise the plan and have provisions to maintain their families in the event of a disaster or emergency. Take initiative to start a neighborhood preparedness plan for safe sheltering and provisions as well.” “To depend on IPaws and the new county alert system that we’re implementing, Civic Ready, to always be weather aware. I’m encouraging people from every city and district to take the storm spotter class. Failure to train is training to fail.” “Be prepared and have a plan for whatever may come your way by having important information about the event from your mass notification system, weather radio, or news.” 16 | September 2018