FSU College of Medicine 2018 annual report 2017 Annual Report - FSU College of Medicine - Page 56

T H A N K S T O O U R S U P P O R T E R S 54 REWARDED FOR COMPASSION AND EMPATHY For the second year, 10 students were recognized with scholarships in 2017 for the way they relate to patients. This is known as the Chapman Humanism Scholarship. If science is on one side of the medical coin, then humanism is on the other. Humanism is the art of medicine, the heart of THANK YOU AGAIN, medicine. It’s the quality you instinctively sense when you say, CAPITAL MEDICAL SOCIETY “I want THAT person to be my family’s doctor.” Half of the 2017 honorees come from the Class of 2019: In 2017, eight more College of Medicine students Shelbi Brown (also chosen in 2016), Sam Cook (also chosen benefited from the generosity of the Capital Medical Society in 2016), Charlie Ingram, Cory Nonnemacher and Stephanie Foundation. Rolon Rodriguez. They were (as pictured in the photo, from left) Ciara The other half come from the Class of 2020: Nicholas Grayson (Class of 2021); Kaylee Denmark (2021); Brian Adams, Paige Blinn, Arjith Rathakrishnan, D’Andre Williams Bowden (2020); Quinn Frier (2020); Whitney Basford and Stephanie Williams. (2021); Breanna Jameson (2019); Collin Lamba (2019); and Saira Bari (2019). “Attending medical school is a very expensive proposition The College of Medicine’s standardized patients played a key role in nominating these students. The Chapman Humanism Scholars Fund was established these days,” said Tallahassee pediatrician Frank Walker, head in 2015 by the Jules B. Chapman, M.D., and Annie Lou of the Scholarship Committee. “My fellow physicians and Chapman Private Foundation. I are pleased and proud to help support medical students who have not only a financial need, but a desire to stay and practice medicine in Florida.” The scholarships flow directly from the proceeds of the Capital Medical Society Foundation’s annual Holiday Auction in December. Executive Director Pam Wilson said the foundation has provided a total of $528,489 in scholarships to medical students over the past 30-plus years. Even though the College of Medicine wasn’t established until 2000, its students have received the vast majority of those scholarships – $501,000. “I grew up seeing firsthand what a medically underserved community looked like, and I have been dedicated to serving communities like the one that helped shape me into the person I am today,” a grateful 2017 recipient wrote in a letter to the foundation. “Thank you so much for investing in me and supporting me in my path to making this dream become a reality.” (l-r) Arjith Rathakrishnan, College of Medicine Dean John P. Fogarty, Stephanie Williams, D’Andre Williams, Paige Blinn, Professor Robert Watson, Cory Nonnemacher and Nicholas Adams.