FSU College of Medicine 2018 annual report 2017 Annual Report - FSU College of Medicine - Page 38

M E D I C A L E D U C A T I O N Q U A L I T Y 36 TRANSITIONS IN LEADERSHIP In April 2018, Joedrecka Brown Speights will become student affairs; Leadem remains on faculty in a teaching interim chair of the Department of Family Medicine and role; Jeffrey Joyce replaced Myra Hurt as senior associate Rural Health, replacing Daniel Van Durme. Van Durme, dean for research and graduate programs; Hurt now is who has served as chair since 2004, will become senior senior associate dean for Interdisciplinary Medical Sciences; associate dean for clinical and community affairs. Van Durme Suzanne Baker became assistant dean for graduate programs also serves as the college’s chief medical officer. ... In 2017: and medical student research; Anthony Speights was named Jonathan Appelbaum was named chair of the Department director of the Bridge to Clinical Medicine master’s program. of Clinical Sciences (replacing Ricardo Gonzalez-Rothi, … The following faculty physicians assumed new roles as who retired in 2016); Gregory Todd became director of education directors for the College of Medicine in 2017: the Center for Innovative Collaboration in Medicine and Michael Sweeney (surgery), Debbie Andree (pediatrics) Law (replacing Marshall Kapp, who retired in December); and George Bernardo (family medicine). Likewise, Mridul Sandeep Rahangdale was named dean of the Tallahassee Mazumder (geriatrics, Tallahassee Regional Campus) Regional Campus (replacing Ron Hartsfield, who returned and Alix Casler (pediatrics, Orlando) assumed clerkship to practice at Big Bend Hospice in Tallahassee); Rob director duties in 2017. Joanne Saxour replaced Bernardo as Campbell replaced Chris Leadem as associate dean for informatics director in Daytona Beach. STUDENT NAMES TO REMEMBER FROM 2017 Malcolm Dix (Class of 2021) was elected as a regional delegate for the Organization of Student Representatives administrative board at the annual meeting of the Association of American Medical Colleges. … Bettina Teng (Class of 2021) is one of 40 students nationally to be named a Tylenol Future Care Scholar. … Paulin Gotrace (M.D., ’17) was selected to receive a National Health Service Corps Scholarship. … Stephanie Hurwitz (Class of 2019) became the first M.D. student to earn a Ph.D. in biomedical sciences at the College of Medicine, completing her research work in only two years. She also in 2017 was one of 100 people (out of more than 700 applicants) selected for the P.E.O. Scholar Award, a merit-based grant for U.S. and Canadian women pursuing a doctoral-level degree. … College of Medicine students, faculty and staff came together for a moving tribute to second-year medical student Matt Wittman (Class of 2019), who died in early February 2017. At the suggestion of classmates Remi Omotayo and Martine Sainvilus, many students now wear mental-health awareness pins on their white coats, “as a way to pay tribute to Matt’s life and to remember his time here … and as a reminder to take into account our own mental health as well as keeping mental health at the forefront as we treat our future patients.” Twenty-eight medical students spent part of their summer conducting Ph.D.-level research in biomedical and clinical sciences to develop an understanding of issues and cases they’ll face as physicians. Some of them are pictured above. Front row, l-r: Jessica Warrick-Imrisek, Raye Ng, Nadia Akhiyat, Hana Ahmed and Bianca Alvarez. Middle, l-r: Devan Patel, Eric Crespo, Daniel Farinas and Elizabeth Ichite. Back, l-r: Jack Larsen, Alex Malidelis, Adhish Singh and Conor Malloy.