FSU College of Medicine 2018 annual report 2017 Annual Report - FSU College of Medicine - Page 29

2 0 1 7 A N N U A L R E P O R T 27 DAYTONA BEACH: TEN YEARS AFTER The fourth-year students at the Daytona Beach Regional Campus ended medical school with a bang. Five were recognized by the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and six by the Gold Humanism Honor Society. A total of 167 College of Medicine alumni have come through the Daytona Beach campus since we opened in 2007. This year proved extra special as our campus geared up for our 10th anniversary. At a special celebration, the guests welcomed by Dean John P. Fogarty included Kent Sharples, former president of Daytona State College and major leader in bringing the College of Medicine to the area. Steve Miles – clinical faculty member, Community Board member and proud parent of a College of Medicine alum – reviewed the Graduation often takes our students separate ways, but not always. Sometimes they’re reunited at top residency programs. Case in point: Diana Mosquera (Class of 2017), left, and Shaki Salvador (Class of 2016), now both internal medicine residents at Duke University Medical Center. campus’s history. Jeff Feasel, president and CEO of Halifax Health, described the medical school’s impact on the Daytona Beach area and the medical community. Our Community Partners – Florida Health Care Plans, Florida Hospital and Halifax Health – received plaques commemorating 10 years of tremendous support. Sheila and Amol Gupta, M.D.s, were honored as the 2017 Guardians of the Mission. And Stephen Viel, M.D. – who spent Years 3 and 4 at the Daytona Beach campus, graduated FORT PIERCE: ANNIVERSARY LEADS TO SCHOLARSHIPS The Fort Pierce Regional Campus celebrated its 10th anniversary with 160 participants. The planning committee was composed of women from Stuart to Vero Beach, to reflect our tri-c ounty medical presence for our students. Shortly afterward, we received a financial gift from in 2009 and now practices at Halifax – was named the Mike and Laura Brown to help build our endowed Outstanding Community Faculty for 2017. scholarship. Marjorie and Bud Jordan are also to be thanked More than 16 alumni who had trained at this campus attended. It was a glorious celebration. Luckey Dunn, M.D., campus dean; med.fsu.edu/daytona for funding a scholarship in the name of Clerkship Director Heidi McNaney-Flint, M.D., to benefit a student entering obstetrics and gynecology. Our overall efforts for our first- ever fundraiser generated enough to assist at least 10 students in the coming years. Our campus also welcomes Nikki Cowette as our first PA director. She is a practicing physician assistant from the Vero Beach area. And our campus sponsored its first joint faculty development session of the clerkship faculty and clerkship directors on the topic of “Handling Challenging Teaching Situations.” The conversations were robust and collegial. An additional first was a joint meeting between local attorneys and elder-care physicians presented as a faculty development session, hosted by the Center for Innovative Collaboration in Medicine and Law. Juliette Lomax-Homier, M.D., campus dean; med.fsu.edu/fortpierce The FSU Alumni Association selected Megan Bagwell (M.D., ’10) as a Notable Nole and gave her an Askew Young Alumni Award. Bagwell, who earned her B.S. from FSU in 2003, is practicing at Volusia OB/GYN in Daytona Beach. VIRES magazine wrote. “... the hallmark of her medical career is service.”