Flashmag Digizine Edition Issue 110 October 2020 - Page 121

Flashmag September 2020 www.flashmag.net



Malawi achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1964 and was ruled as a one-party state by Dr. Hastings Kamuzu Banda for 30 years. Arthur Peter Mutharika won the presidency in 2014 in elections of questionable legitimacy. His brother, former President Bingu wa Mutharika, had died in office in 2012. Despite having been accused of corruption by the country’s Anti-Corruption Bureau in 2018, Mutharika was narrowly reelected in May 2019 in general elections that were marred by irregularities. The presidential results were nullified in February 2020 by the Constitutional Court. New presidential elections were held on June 23, 2020 where Lazarus Chakwera of the Malawi Congress Party and Saulos Chilima of the United Transformational Movement Party (known as the UTM Party) were elected as president and vice president respectively after getting 58.6% of the votes. They won against Peter Mutharika of Democratic Progressive Party and United Democratic Front coalition, who received 39.4% of the votes. President Lazarus Chakwera and Vice President Saulos Chilima lead a coalition of nine political parties.

Was the Obama administration involved in bribery with French nuclear giant AREVA?

Malawi - The Country with its potential


View of Blantyre economic Capital Malawi

Flashmag October 2020 www.flashmag.net