First American Art Magazine Vol. 4, Fall 2014 - Page 22

Recent Developments MUSEUMS The Inuit Art Foundation (IAF) is raising funds to build the Cape Dorset Arts and Cultural Centre in Canada. The proposed center will include print studios and an exhibition space. The IAF hopes to begin construction in the summer of 2015 and have the center open by 2016. The Minneapolis Institute of Arts in Minnesota hired Jill Ahlberg Yohe, PhD, as assistant curator of Native American art. Yohe earned her doctorate in cultural anthropology from the University of New Mexico in 2008 and was assistant curator and the Mellon Fellow in Native American Art at Saint Louis Art Museum. Candace Hopkins (Tagish) is the new interim curator of the Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA). Hopkins is an independent curator and writer, who has curated at the National Gallery of Canada, the Western Front, and the Walter Phillips Gallery, and the Banff Centre. Hopkins earned her MA from the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College in Annandale-on-Hudson, New York. ART FAIRS The Grand Award winner of the 2014 Red Earth Festival in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, was Chase Kahwinhut Earles (Caddo Nation). Nelda Schrupp (Pheasant Rump Nakota) won the President’s Award, and Karin Walkingstick (Cherokee Nation) won the Kathleen Everett Upshaw Award. The division winners were Mary Aitson, basketry; Connie Hart Yellowman, beadwork; Tahnee Ahtone Harjo Growing Thunder, textiles; Jim Van Deman, utilitarian cultural items; Anita Caldwell Jackson, diversified cultural items; Linda Kukuk, drawings and graphics; Nelson Garcia, contemporary jewelry; Ray O. Garcia, traditional jewelry; Matt 20 | Bearden, oil/acrylic painting; Gilmore Scott, water-based painting; Lester Harragarra, photography; Jeri Redcorn, traditional pottery; Mel Cornshucker, contemporary pottery; and Troy Anderson, sculpture. The Best of Show winners of the 2014 Eiteljorg Indian Market & Festival in Indianapolis, Indiana, were Ronni Leigh Goeman (Onondaga) and Stonehorse Goeman (Seneca). The Goemans and Antonio Grant (Eastern Band Cherokee-Navajo) won Harrison Eiteljorg Purchase Awards. Division winners were Jodi M. Webster (HoChunk Nation-Potawatomi) for twodimensional arts; Ryan Gashweseoma (Hopi) for sculpture; Gerry Quotskuyva (Hopi) for carvings/dolls; Brian Szabo (Sicangu Lakota); Delmar Polacca (Hopi-Tewa) for pottery; Ronnie Leigh and Stonehorse Goeman for basketry; Florence Manygoats (Navajo) for textiles; Antonio Grant for cultural items; Sho Sho Esquiro (Kaska Dena) for beadwork; and Ronni Leigh and Stonehorse Goeman for collaboration. Juniper Anderson (Navajo-Ho-Chunk) won the Margot L. Eccles Youth Award. ART SHOWS Grand Prize winner at the 43rd annual Trail of Tears Art Show was Troy Jackson (Cherokee Nation). Division winners were Kenny Henson, painting; Jane Osti, sculpture; Vivian GarnerCott rell, basketry; Kristie Vann, Trail of Tears theme; Joseph Erb, jewelry; Hillary Glass, graphics; and Merlin Little Thunder, miniatures. Jane Osti won the Bill Rabbit Legacy Award, and Karin Walkingstick won the emerging artist award. The Trail of Tears Art Show is hosted by the Cherokee Heritage Center in Park Hill, Oklahoma. PROJECTS An interactive site-specific installation, The Tipi Project, was established in Havemeyer Park, Brooklyn, New York. W W W.F IR S TAMER I C AN ARTMAG A ZI N E.C OM A collaboration between Native and non-Native organizers, The Tipi Project features a 30-foot-tall tipi, around which events and youth workshops are organized throughout the summer. AWARDS AND SCHOLARSHIPS Christi Belcourt (Métis) received the 2014 Ontario Arts Council Aboriginal Arts Award. The council created the $10,000 annual award in 2012 to recognize contributions made by local Aboriginal artists and arts leaders. Belcourt is both an accomplished painter and the lead organizer of Walking with Our Sisters, a commemorative art installation for the missing and murdered Indigenous women that is scheduled to travel throughout Canada and the United States through 2018. The OAC asked Belcourt to select a recipient for its emerging artists award. She chose Jaime Koebel (Cree-Métis), a dancer and visual artist working in a variety of media, including fish scales. The 2014 Rasmuson Foundation Fellows include David Galanin (Tlingit) from Sitka; Nicholas Galanin (Tlingit-Aleut) from Sitka; and George Demientieff Holly (Deg Hit’an Athabascan) from Soldotna. The Fellowship includes a $50,000 honorarium. Everett Athorp of Klawock, Jerrod Galanin of Sitka, and Kristina Cranston of Haines received 2014 Project Awards. Based in Anchorage, Alaska, the Rasmuson Foundation is a private foundation established to promote Alaskan artists. Nadia Myre (Kitigan Zibi Algonquian), an interdisciplinary artist from Montreal, Quebec, is one of five artists chosen for the 2014 Sobey Art Award shortlist. One of the five will win the $50,000 award, to be announced November 19th, with the four runners-up winning $10,000. The Sobey Award, funded by the Sobey Art Foundation and administered by the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, is awarded to exhibiting contemporary Canadian artists.