First American Art Magazine No. 22, Spring 2019 - Page 15

KESHi thezuniconnection 227 don gaspar santa fe, nm 87501 505.989.8728 Since 1981 Jewlery Fetishes Pottery Orin Eriacho: Sea Turtle, flourite, 8”x 6.75” AWARDS & HONORS The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) awarded Indigenous Research Capacity and Reconciliation—Connection Grants 2018 ranging up to $50,000. Recipients working on arts and humanities projects include indi- viduals and teams affiliated with the All Nations Hope Network, Inuit Art Foundation, Concordia University, Dechinta Centre for Research and Learning, Indigenous Performing Arts Alliance, Ittaq Heritage and Research Centre, Nation Waban Aki Grand Council, Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres, Tsi Tyonnheht Onkwawenna, Debwe Society, EnviroNative Training Initiatives Inc., Indigenous Culture Media Innovations, Indigenous Heritage Circle, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, Mannawanis Native Friendship Centre, Métis Nation of Ontario, NunatuKavut Community Council, Three Nations Education Group Inc., Treaty 8 Tribal Association, Wawatay Native Communications Society, and numerous colleges throughout Canada. United States Artists, based in Chicago, announced its 2019 USA Fellows, which include Allison Akootchook Warden (Iñupiaq), Gabriel Frey (Passamaquoddy), Dyani White Hawk (Sicangu Lakota), Cecilia Vicuña (Mestiza). Winners of the annual fellow- ship receive $50,000 of unrestricted funds. The Joan Mitchell Foundation awarded its 2018 Painters and Sculptors Grants to 25 artists, including Wendy Red Star (Apsáalooke). Grantees each receive a $25,000 stipend and will be eligible to apply for residencies at the Joan Mitchell Center in New Orleans. The Native Arts and Cultures Foundation selected its 2018 National Artist Fellows: Brian Adams (Iñupiaq), photogra- pher; RYAN! Feddersen (Okanagan-Sinixt), interdisciplinary artist; Courtney Leonard (Shinnecock), ceramic artist; Cary Morin (Assiniboine), singer-songwriter; Kalani Pe’a (Native Hawaiian), singer-songwriter; Jeff Peterson (Native Hawaiian), musician; Allison Akootchook Warden (Iñupiaq), hip-hop artist; Anthony Hudson (Grand Ronde), performance artist; Ciara Leina`ala Lacy (Native Hawaiian), filmmaker; Bently Spang (Northern Cheyenne), interdisciplinary; Frank Wain (Sicangu Lakota), rapper; Melissa Cody (Navajo), textile artist; Pōhaku Kaho`ohanohano (Native Hawaiian), textile artist; Marques Hanalei Marzen (Native Hawaiian), textile artist; Heid E. Erdrich (Turtle Mountain Ojibwe), poet; Luci Tapahonso (Navajo), poet; Michael Wasson (Nez Perce), poet; Elizabeth Woody (Warm Springs-Navajo-Wasco-Yakama), poet; Jim Denomie (Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe), painter; and Linda Infante Lyons (Alutiiq), painter. The Art Matters Foundation announced its 2018 list of 24 grantees, which includes Natalie Ball (Modoc-Klamath) and Rory Wakemup (Bois Forte Ojibwe). The invitation-only grant program awards $7,500 to individual artists and collective teams working in art and performance. The Connecticut Historical Society’s Connecticut Cultural Heritage Arts Program awarded two of its 2018–19 Southern New England Apprenticeship Program awards to Elizabeth James-Perry (Aquinnah Wampanoag) to mentor Leah Hopkins SPRING 2019 | 13