First American Art Magazine No. 21, Winter 2018/19 - Page 16

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS (Winnebago), mixed media, fine arts 3D; Elizabeth Skye (Oglala-Hunkpapa Lakota), pottery; Galen LaRoche, digital and computer-generated; Kelly Looking Horse (Oglala Lakota), traditional bead- work; Emil Her Many Horses (Oglala Lakota), contemporar y beadwork; LaVerne Whitebear (Assiniboine-Dakota), porcupine quillwork; Tillie Hawk Eagle (Cheyenne River Sioux), quilts; Linda Szabo (Sicangu Lakota), textile and fabric items; no award given, handmade dolls; Donald F. Montileaux (Oglala Lakota), traditional paintings; Dwayne Wilcox (Oglala Lakota), mixed media, tribal arts; and Jeremy Red Eagle, mixed media, 3D. AWARDS & HONORS Award, and Lisa Rutherford (Cherokee Nation) won the Anna Mitchell Award. Classification winners were Eugene Tapahe, painting, drawing, graphics, and photography; Troy Jackson (Cherokee Nation), sculpture; Ken Williams Jr. (Northern Arapaho-Seneca), beadwork/ quillwork; Leona Romero (Tohono O’odham), basketry; Autumn Borts- Medlock (Santa Clara Pueblo), pottery; Phil Singer (Navajo), textiles; Ric Charlie (Navajo), jewelry; and Glenda McKay (Ingalik Athabascan), diverse art. Sinte Gleska University hosted the 31st annual Northern Plains Indian Market in Sioux Falls, South Dakota. Galen LaRoche (Sicangu Lakota) won best of show, and Jeremy Red Eagle (Sisseton) won the Best of Traditional Arts award, while Brian Szabo (Sicangu Lakota) won the Best of Fine Arts award. Division winners were Nelson Chasing Hawk (Sicangu Lakota), oil and acrylic paintings; Alaina Buffalo Spirit (Northern Cheyenne), watercolor, tempera, gouache, and casein; Charles Her Many Horses (Sicangu Lakota), pencil, ink, crayon, pastel, charcoal, and chalk; no award given, printmaking; Nelda Schrupp (Nakota), three-dimensional, additive process; Edward Thomas (Turtle Mountain Chippewa), three-dimensional, subtractive process; Brian Szabo; jewelry and decorative metalwork; Henry Payer The Museum of Arts and Design (MAD) in New York selected Cannupa Hanska Luger (Mandan-Hidatsa-Arikara-Lakota) as the first recipient of the Burke Prize for contemporary craft. The award carries a cash prize of $50,000 and will be awarded annually to artists under 46 years of age who primarily work in glass, fiber, clay, metal, or wood. Each year the previous winner will be invited to act as juror. A selection of Luger’s work, along with work by the other award finalists, is on display at MAD as part of the exhibition, The Burke Prize 2018: The Future of Craft Part 2. The Hnatyshyn Foundation, based in Ottawa, awarded Maria Hupfield (Wasauksing Ojibwe) with a prize for outstanding achievement by a Canadian mid-career artists and a stipend of $25,000. The foundation gave Daina Warren (Cree) its award for curatorial excellent in contemporary art with a stipend of $15,000. Audie Murray (Métis) and Hjalmer Wenstob (Nuu-chah-nulth) won the organization’s William and Meredith Saunder Prize for young artists, each with a stipend of $5,000. In October, the Alliance for California Traditional Arts honored Brian D. Tripp (Karuk) with their third California Living Heritage Award. Tripp has dedicated his life to the revitalization of ceremonial and cultural practices in the Klamath River region. Aside from being active as a visual artist for over 60 years, Tripp is also a poet, ceremonial singer, dancer, and a regalia maker. Tripp, born in 1945, attended Humboldt State University, where he went on to teach Native American art. 14 | WWW.FIRSTAMERICANARTMAGAZINE.COM Inuk-Métis sculptor Michael Massie joined the Order of Canada. He is known for pushing the perceived limits of Inuit sculp- ture, especially for incorporating metals. Massie studied jewelry at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design before launching a teaching career that led him to Kippens on the west coast of Newfoundland. The BC Achievement Foundation presented its 12th annual Fulmer Awards in BC First Nations Art to six artists, including the Lifetime Achievement Award to Henry Speck Jr. (Kwakwaka’wakw) and the Crabtree McLennan Emerging Artist Award to Kelsey Hall (Heiltsuk). The remaining 2018 winners are Richard Adkins (Haida), Bradley Hunt (Heiltsuk), Nakkita Trimble (Nisga’a), and Carrielynn Victor (Stó:lō). The award includes a CAD $5,000 stipend and a solo exhibition in Vancouver. The 57th annual Carnegie International, held at the Carnegie Museum of Art in Pittsburgh, awarded its 2018 Fine Prize to Postcommodity, an interdisciplinary arts collective. The award recognizes their installation titled From Smoke and Tangled Waters We Carried Fire Home. Though there have been many roster changes since its inception in 2007, the two current members of Postcommodity hail from Indigenous nations: Cristóbal Martínez (Chicano) and Kade L. Twist (Cherokee Nation). Raven Chacon (Navajo) has left Postcommodity to pursue other avenues with his art and music. The National Native American Hall of Fame announced its first-ever twelve inductees, which include sculptor Allan Houser (Chiricahua Apache, 1914–1994), writer and painter N. Scott Momaday (Kiowa), and ballerina Maria Tallchief (Osage, 1925–2013). Based in Great Falls, Montana, the National Native American Hall of Fame is a nonprofit organization that honors Native American achievement from the 1860s to the present. REPATRIATION Albion College, a private college in Michigan, has returned a Zuni War God back to the Zuni people. The Ahayuda figure, a 19th-century cottonwood carving, was donated to the college in 1973. Bille Wickre, an Albion professor of art history, discovered the figure in the collection and in 2015, after researching it further,