Facts about Germany 2015 2015 - Page 19

The Bundestag elects The parliament is elected for four years and has 598 members. In addition there are so-called overhang and equalising seats. The Bundestag is responsible for legislation and monitoring government. The Federal Chancellor proposes The Federal Government The government comprises the Federal Chancellor and the federal ministers. Each minister runs his or her ministry independently. The Chancellor is elected by the Bundestag in a secret vote. The Chancellor determines policy guidelines and is head of the Cabinet. elects sends delegates to appoints appoints The Federal Assembly The Federal President The Federal Assembly convenes solely for the purpose of electing the Federal President, whom it elects in a secret vote for a five-year term of office. The head of state’s duties are primarily of a representative nature and he represents the Federal Republic in international matters. He appoints the Chancellor and the federal ministers and issues laws. elects elects The Bundesrat Federal Constitutional Court The chamber of states is made up of 69 members delegated by the state governments. In many fields laws require the approval of the Bundesrat. The Court has 16 judges. Half of them are elected with a two thirds majority by the Bundestag and Bundesrat. elects