eRacing Magazine Vol 2. Issue 9 - Page 61

Main changes to the 2015-16 FIA Formula E Championship

– All races now count to the overall championship classification

– Introduction of a new rule permitting a maximum of two driver changes per race number during the season

– The five fastest drivers from qualifying will then contest a single-lap Super Pole session to determine the top five positions on the grid

– Increase of power in race trim to 170kW and 200kW in qualifying trim

– Introduction of a Full Course Yellow system – similar to those seen in other FIA championships for on-track incidents

– Extension of the FanBoost voting deadline until the start of the pit stop window mid-race.

The WMSC also confirmed Michelin as the single tyre supplier for the FIA Formula E Championship. The contracts will cover Seasons 3 (2016-2017), 4 (2017-2018) and 5 (2018-2019), subject to the finalisation of the corresponding agreements.

The WMSC recognised the importance of ensuring that Formula E races must take place in a city location, and on a street circuit specifically adapted to Formula E.