E-mag E-MAG - Page 3


Rahman. The Centre for Application of Nuclear Energy (CRANE) was the entity to mark the of Malaysia’s nuclear programme, focussing on manpower development for a nuclear power programme to provide an option for energy source, following the worldwide oil crisis of the early 1970’s.

The Cabinet officially approved the establishment of the Tun Ismail Atomic Research Centre (PUSPATI), under the Ministry of Science, Technology and the environment on 19 September 1972. The era of nuclear research in Malaysia began with the historic event signified by the Reaktor TRIGA PUSPATI reaching its first criticality on 28 June 1982. When Puspati was placed under the auspices of the Prime Minister’s Department, it assumed the name Nuclear Energy Unit (UTN). The Nuclear Energy Unit was later placed under the Minister of Science, Technology and the Environment. In line with the national development, the institute was name Malaysian Institute for Nuclear Technology Research (MINT) on 10 August 1994.

To reflect its vision, mission, objectives and activities in the challenging world, a new identity was established, and was officially named as Malaysian Nuclear

Agency (Nuclear Malaysia) on 28 September 2006. Nuclear Malaysia is the institution with established laboratories and facilities. These include Non-Destructive Testing Laboratory, SINAGAMA Plant, Electron Beam Processing Service Centre, Gamma Irradiation of Rubber Latex Plant, Non-Ionising Radiation Laboratory, Secondary Standard Dosimetry Laboratory, Radioisotope Production Laboratory, Environmental Laboratory, Analytical Chemistry Laboratory, Radioactive Waste Management Centre, Flora Centre and Tissue Bank.