Department of Mathematics and Statistics Newsletter 2015 Newsletter - Page 13

Student highlights Graham Gordon was chosen as a 2014 Barry M. Goldwater Scholar. Gordon was a junior at the time majoring in mathematics and physics. The scholarship, awarded to only about 300 students nationwide, is widely considered the most prestigious award in the United States for undergraduates in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines. The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Program was established to provide scholarships to outstanding students who intend to pursue careers in mathematics, the natural sciences, and engineering. Each scholarship covers eligible expenses up to a maximum of $7,500 annually for undergraduate tuition, fees, books, and housing. In awarding scholarships, the foundation of trustees considers the nominee’s field of study and career objectives, along with the extent to which that individual has the commitment and potential to make a significant contribution to the field of science or engineering. Gordon was also accepted to Budapest Semesters in Mathematics in June 2014, and is the recipient of the 2013 Andrew C. Connor Memorial Award. Doctoral student Steven Clontz (pictured) ran the first annual Lamar Mathematical Puzzle (LaMP) Challenge at Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas, on April 25, 2015. He was asked to design and run the event by alumnus P. J. Couch (’12), an assistant professor at Lamar University. The LaMP Challenge is based upon Auburn’s AMP’d Challenge competition, which was created in 2012 by Clontz and Braxton Carrigan (’12), who is now an assistant professor at Southern Connecticut State University. The event continues to run each fall in coordination with the COSAM Office of Outreach and is designed and organized by departmental graduate student leadership. In conjunction with the LaMP event, Clontz and Carrigan gave invited talks at Lamar on April 24. Carrigan spoke on choosing problems for undergraduate research, and Clontz spoke on connections between mathematical puzzles and active/inquiry-based learning. Clontz also received the 2015 Dr. Ben Fitzpatrick Memorial Graduate Fellowship for Students with an Interest in Topology. More student highlights • Joe Chaffee, John Asplund, and James Hammer, along with some combinatorics faculty, were instrumental in receiving an invitation to host the Graduate Student Combinatorics Conference, arranging for the invited speakers to come to the conference, and procuring funding. • Bertran Sedar Ngoma Koumba and Brice Merlin Nguelifack were invited to participate in the workshop on Careers and Opportunities in Industry for Mathematical Scientists at the Institute for Mathematics and its Applications at the University of Minnesota in April 2014. The workshop was intended to bring together industrial mathematicians and faculty members, postdocs, and graduate students who are interested in exploring careers in and opportunities for collaborating with industry. Travel support and local accommodati ۜ