Department of Building Inspection Annual Report Fiscal Year 2015-2016 - Page 8

About the Building Inspection Commission The Building Inspection Commission (BIC) provides policy direction to the Department of Building Inspection. The BIC was designed to provide representation for the various communities, which interact with the Department. The BIC sets policy, hears various appeals on issues leading up to the issuance of building permits, sits as the Abatement Appeals Board to hear appeals of Director’s Orders of Abatement, and provides a public forum through their monthly meetings. Members of the Commission Boards & Committees • Angus McCarthy President, Residential Builder Seat • Abatement Appeals Board • Warren Mar* Vice-President, Residential Landlord Seat • Kevin Clinch Licensed Structural Engineer Seat • John Konstin Residential Landlord Seat • Access Appeals Commission • Board of Examiners • Code Advisory Committee • Administrative & General Design Subcommittee • Disability Access Subcommittee • Gail Gilman Non-Profit Housing Seat • Fire and Life Safety Subcommittee • Frank Lee Architect Seat • Housing Code Subcommittee • Dr. James McCray, Jr.* Non-Profit Housing Seat • Myrna Melgar General Public Seat • Debra Walker Tenant Seat • Green Building Subcommittee • Mechanical/Electrical/Plumbing, Fire and Life Safety Subcommittee • Structural Subcommittee • Single Room Occupancy Task Force • Public Advisory Committee • Sonya Harris BIC Secretary * Commissioners whose terms changed within FY 2015-16 8 Department of Building Inspection, Fiscal Year 2015-2016 Annual Report Department of Building Inspection, Fiscal Year 2015-2016 Annual Report 9