DCN October 2016 - Page 4

welcome data centre news Editor Russell Drury – 01353 616105 russell@allthingsmedialtd.com Group Advertisement Manager Kelly Byne – 01634 673163 kelly@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager Francesca Brisk – 01634 673163 francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Studio Manager Ben Bristow – 01634 673163 ben@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer Jon Appleton – 01353 616114 jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator Carol Gylby – 01634 673163 carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director Alan Goodes – 01634 673163 alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director David Kitchener – 01634 673163 david@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts 01634 673163 accounts@allthingsmedialtd.com The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to DCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616100 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 4 W elcome to the October issue of Data Centre News. Our special feature this month focuses on Green IT. Green IT is, and forever will be, a huge topic of interest in IT. It is not an area of the industry that can simply be ticked off a checklist to say it has been dealt with, or completed. With the demands on IT performance growing rapidly by the month, so too do the demands it will place on the environment. Companies, therefore, are constantly striving to not only maintain their levels of energy efficiency, but to improve on them as well. While the range of methods behind improving energy efficiency can be wide ranging, the simpler things like switching off lights in unoccupied areas can make a crucial difference. Our first article in the feature is from Gary Watson of Nexsan (page 18), who discusses how IT professionals can save power and costs through the use of green IT, without limiting performance. Particularly in the IT industry, tools such as PUE have been a huge help in helping comp W2FV7W&RFV VW&wVff6V7FRw&VVw&B2pFFVBFW"W6VgVFFRW&f&6PF6F"BvR#b&6WW bgWGW&Rf6ƗFW2W2vB6V@G&6f&FRGW7G'W"FW"7V6fVGW&R'F6W2&vR&6V2bfW&Rv&FW2B6RbFR&R6F0f"&fFr'VFB&VWv&RVW&w&W6W&6W2vR#BvR#"&0W6RbGVBvƖvG2FR'F6PbfrVW&w7G&FVw6RBW f6ƗGvFWfW"G26RW"VWBR&wVW7BvRR0F2v&VFR6VbFV6wff6W BW6BvR6fR66R7GVGF0Fg&fFf7W6rFRFF6VG&P6WFB&fFVBf"eG&VFRf"&VFrBbRfR琦2bFRF72F67W76VBV6Pw&FRFVFF&FF6VG&VWw26V'W76VG'W'VFF