DCN November 2016 - Page 4

welcome data centre news Group Editor Russell Drury – 01353 616105 russell@allthingsmedialtd.com News Editor Claire Fletcher – 01353 616112 claire.fletcher@allthingsmedialtd.com Group Advertisement Manager Kelly Byne – 01634 673163 kelly@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager Francesca Brisk – 01634 673163 francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Studio Manager Ben Bristow – 01634 673163 ben@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer Jon Appleton – 01353 616114 jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator Carol Gylby – 01634 673163 carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director Alan Goodes – 01634 673163 alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director David Kitchener – 01634 673163 david@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts 01634 673163 accounts@allthingsmedialtd.com The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to DCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616100 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Welcome to the November issue of Data Centre News. A survey from Spiceworks (Industry News p8) has found that fewer than half of IT professionals say their company regularly conducts security audits, and 80 per cent say their end users have gone behind their back to set up unapproved cloud services. It is a surprising statistic to say the least, given that barely a week passes now without a story concerning a data breach somewhere. Recent cases include the Adult FriendFinder website, the software company Sage and the fashion retailer Vera Bradley, to name just three. The Spiceworks story is certainly not unique though. There seems to be a worrying mix of ignorance and laxity around the dangers of cybercrime and the longer it goes on the more difficult it will become to fight against. Just do a quick web search of the most common passwords in use on the Internet and that will give some indication of the risks people expose themselves to without realising. The UK government’s pledge to invest £1.9bn into the UK’s cyber security defence is a welcome move, but with cybercrime costing the global economy around $445bn each year the scale of the problem looks a mammoth task. While every data centre I have visited has been mightily impressive from a physical security point of view, it seems there is much work to do in increasing awareness when it comes to the threat of cybercrime and data breaches. Our special feature on Security, beginning on page 18, explores some of these threats and what can be done to prevent them. Also in this issue, Tony Martin of FalconStor joins us in the Meet Me Room on page 16, and on page 34 Martin Percival of Red Hat looks back at 25 years of Linux in the data centre. Finally, it gives me great pleasure to welcome Claire Fletcher to the DCN team in the role of news editor. After completing a degree in Journalism five years ago, Claire has spent time travelling in Australia and Asia teaching English as a foreign language. An accomplished writer and blogger, Claire is relishing the chance to work in this ever evolving industry. Thank you for reading and if you have any opinions on any of the topics discussed please write to editorial@datacentrenews.co.uk. Russell Drury Editor 4