DCN May 2016 - Page 4

welcome data centre news Group Editor Michael Crane – 01353 616117 michael@allthingsmedialtd.com Editor Russell Drury – 01353 616105 russell@allthingsmedialtd.com Editorial Assistant Tim Mason – 01353 616112 tim@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer Jon Appleton – 01353 616114 jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager Francesca Brisk – 01634 673163 francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Production/Circulation Sam Broad – 01634 673163 sam@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director Alan Goodes – 01634 673163 alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director David Kitchener – 01634 673163 david@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts Emily O’Donnell – 01634 673163 emily@allthingsmedialtd.com The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to DCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616114 | F: +44 (0)8723 526609 4 W elcome to the May issue of Data Centre News. We are currently in the middle of a busy sporting calendar in the UK, with the Boat Race, the Grand National and London Marathon all taking place recently, and events such as the football European Championships, the Olympics and Wimbledon all coming up, it is worth taking a moment to appreciate what technology has brought to the world of sport. Hawk-Eye for example has helped tennis matches be more accurately scored, and is also now being used in top level football. The growing popularity of cycling in the UK is due largely thanks to the success of the likes of Chris Froome, Sir Bradley Wiggins and Laura Trott (among many others). But technology has most definitely contributed to its growing appeal as a spectator sport worldwide. At the recent Clo VBW