DCN February 2017 - Page 4

welcome data centre news Group Editor Russell Drury – 01353 616105 russell@allthingsmedialtd.com News Editor Claire Fletcher – 01353 616112 claire.fletcher@allthingsmedialtd.com Group Advertisement Manager Kelly Byne – 01634 673163 kelly@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager Francesca Brisk – 01634 673163 francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Studio Manager Ben Bristow – 01634 673163 ben@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer Jon Appleton – 01353 616114 jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator Carol Gylby – 01634 673163 carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director Alan Goodes – 01634 673163 alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director David Kitchener – 01634 673163 david@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts 01634 673163 susan@allthingsmedialtd.com The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to DCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616100 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 As the post-Christmas lull of January and February drags on, with detox diets and new year resolutions to go for a 5km run every other day gradually falling by the wayside, we have an exciting feature in this month’s DCN that will hopefully spark us back to life. Starting on page 40 we have an extensive look at Dimension Data’s work behind the scenes at one of the biggest sporting events in the world – the Tour de France. This is a case study I’ve been keen to include in the magazine for some time, so I hope you enjoy it. Perhaps the visions of elite cyclists pedalling through pine forests and down steep mountainsides will help to lift the winter gloom and inspire some of us to make a late bid to become a ‘domestique’ for Chris Froome or Nairo Quintana! On the subject of big international events, we also have Data Centre World to look forward to on 15th-16th at London ExCeL. My diary has been filling up over the last few weeks with meetings and briefings I’ve got scheduled at the show. I also want to leave myself plenty of time to get along to some of the seminars that have caught my eye – the ‘Machines & Robots versus Humans’ in the Data Centres of the Future Theatre is one I would particularly like to attend. You can read our Show Preview starting on page 18, which includes the ‘Editor’s Picks’ of the seminar programme. Also, don’t miss our ‘Spotlight’ section on the Data Centre News website, which features news from some of the show’s exhibitors about what they are going to be showcasing this year. This month’s special feature is Infrastructure Management and we have five in-depth articles, from Siemens, Trackit, Eaton, Nimble and Geist. Also in this issue we speak to Nathan Owen of Blue Medora in the Meet Me Room (page 15). Nathan explains what annoys him about industry buzzwords and reveals a rather interesting hobby. Thank you for reading and if you have any opinions on any of the topics discussed please write to russell@allthingsmedialtd.com Russell Drury Editor @DCNMag www.datacentrenews.co.uk 4