DCN December 2016 - Page 4

welcome data centre news Group Editor Russell Drury – 01353 616105 russell@allthingsmedialtd.com News Editor Claire Fletcher – 01353 616112 claire.fletcher@allthingsmedialtd.com Group Advertisement Manager Kelly Byne – 01634 673163 kelly@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager Francesca Brisk – 01634 673163 francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Studio Manager Ben Bristow – 01634 673163 ben@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer Jon Appleton – 01353 616114 jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator Carol Gylby – 01634 673163 carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director Alan Goodes – 01634 673163 alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director David Kitchener – 01634 673163 david@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts 01634 673163 susan@allthingsmedialtd.com The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to DCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616100 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 4 L ooking back, it’s safe to say 2016 was a year of surprises. Brexit, Leicester winning the English Premier League, Iceland knocking England out of Euro 2016 (whether that was a surprise is debatable), Ed Balls surviving past the first round on Strictly Come Dancing, and, probably the biggest of the lot, Donald Trump being voted in as the next US President. Next year has its work cut out to beat it, that’s for sure. This year has been a less than glorious year in some aspects for the IT industry, with some major service outages and serious cyber attacks, Dyn and Amazon being two of the major companies affected. In our Centre of Attention column Owen Ashby of Cognisco highlights the link between employee behaviour and security breaches. There is little to suggest 2017 will see any major improvement, acc