DCN August 2016 - Page 4

welcome data centre news Group Editor Michael Crane – 01353 616117 michael@allthingsmedialtd.com Editor Russell Drury – 01353 616105 russell@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer Jon Appleton – 01353 616114 jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager Francesca Brisk – 01634 673163 francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Production/Circulation Sam Broad – 01634 673163 sam@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator Carol Gylby – 01634 673163 carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director Alan Goodes – 01634 673163 alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director David Kitchener – 01634 673163 david@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts 01634 673163 accounts@allthingsmedialtd.com The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to DCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616100 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 4 W elcome to the August issue of Data Centre News. While the fall out from the UK’s exit from the EU continues (I still refuse to use the ‘B’ word), a hot new topic should be welcomed as a refreshing change. We didn’t have to wait too long for the craze that is inspiring people, young and old, to get off the sofa and take up a new hobby, getting them fit and healthy in the process. I am not referring to the Olympics – that’s so 2012 – I am of course talking about Pokemon Go. The revival of the monster collecting game and TV show from the late 1990s has been brought about by a new augmented reality version produced by Nintendo and Niantic, which involves players hunting for digital monsters in real world locations through an App. Whether the game is here to stay or just another passing fad (remember Tamagotchis?), it has certainly got the IT industry talking. It’s been highlighted already by a few industry experts that it is another shot in the arm for the online gaming industry, thus presenting more potential for revenue growth for data centre operators. There were 7.5 million downloads within a week of its launch in the US. Of course with such popularity comes the inevitable privacy and security issues. An Android version of the App was affected with malware shortly after its launch, and businesses are expressing concern at the threats the App on their employees’ personal devices will pose to their IT networks. ‘Gotta catch ‘em all’ is the game’s motto, but the real game might prove to be slightly more complicated than that. In this month’s issue of DCN we have a special feature on Cooling, beginning on page 16 with a detailed article looking at the environmental impact of data centre cooling. We also have an in-depth case study profiling the work of Emcor UK with Woking Borough Council and the benefits it brings to the local community (page 34), and Ward Williams talks to DCN in the Meet Me Room on page 13. Thank you for reading and if you have any opinions on any of the topics discussed please write to editorial@datacentrenews.co.uk Russell Drury Editor