Courier August/September Courier - Page 19

Know what’s new With record numbers of travelers visiting Canada, destinations are working with their partners to keep up with demand and create more—and more authentic— experiences. To see what’s new in every corner of Canada, check with these NTA- member DMOs. Banff Lake Louise Tourism banfflakelouise.com Cariboo Chilcotin Coast Tourism Association landwithoutlimits.com Two NTA members, Alison Lindsay of The Butchart Gardens (left) and Amber Van Der Hoeven, CTP, of Lord Elgin Hotel, swap stories during the RVC opening night event at Pier 21 in Halifax. has identified specific characteristics of those visitors. “Family is first,” said David Goldstein, president and CEO of Destination Canada. “Mexicans travel in big groups, and they want hotel rooms and restau- rant seating together.” Much of the Mexican tourism market is linked to school holidays: summer, of course, but also in December and April. “They want intellectually stimulating experiences, such as museums, and they’re proud to tell about it on social media,” Goldstein said. “And Mexican visitors like to tour around, city to city.” Canadian Signature Experiences Destination Canada curates a collection of tourism businesses and destinations that are unique to Canada—more than 200 experiences across all 13 provinces and territories. The DMO has turned the spotlight on several members of the collection that added new elements, and three of them are NTA members. Destination St. John’s destinationstjohns.com the completely renovated Canadian and Indigenous Galleries, including the new Canadian Photography Institute. And from November 2019 through mid-April 2020, the Ottawa-based museum will stage its second exhibition of modern indigenous art from around the world. gallery.ca Discover Halifax | discoverhalifaxns.com Kootenay Rockies Tourism kootenayrockies.com Newfoundland & Labrador Tourism newfoundlandlabrador.com Niagara Falls Tourism | fallstraveltrade.com Northern British Columbia Tourism Association | northernbctourism.com Tourism Sault Ste. Marie The Ontario DMO launched a group tour itinerary, Follow in the Footsteps of the Group of Seven, that transports guests to the rugged landscape of Northern Ontario that was painted by seven artists in the 1920s. The tour includes a painting les- son aboard the Agawa Canyon Tour Train, and participants paint their own version of a work made famous 100 years ago. saulttourism.com Nova Scotia Tourism | novascotia.com Ontario Tourism Marketing Partnership Corporation | ontariotravel.net Ottawa Tourism | ottawatourism.ca Québec City Tourism | quebecregion.com QuébecOriginal | quebecoriginal.com Tourism Calgary | visitcalgary.com Tourism Fredericton | tourismfredericton.ca Tourism Jasper | jasper.travel Tourism Kamloops | tourismkamloops.com Tourism PEI | tourismpei.com Tourism Saskatchewan trade.tourismsaskatchewan.com Canadian Museum of History Along with the recent opening of the Canadian History Hall, the country’s largest and most comprehensive exhibition on Canadian history, the museum in Gatineau, Québec, also launched the Canadian Odyssey Group Tour, a one- hour guided tour of the attraction that adds a 90-minute expedition on the Ottawa River with a costumed inter- preter. historymuseum.ca Tourism Sault Ste. Marie | saulttourism.com Tourism Toronto | seetorontonow.com Tourism Victoria | tourismvictoria.com Tourism Winnipeg | winnipeggroups.com Tourism Yukon | travelyukon.com Tourisme Laurentides | laurentians.com Tourisme Montréal | tourisme-montreal.org Tourisme Saguenay-Lac-Saint Jean saguenaylacsaintjean.ca National Gallery of Canada Canada’s visual arts treasures are on display in Travel Manitoba | travelmanitoba.com On crisp, sunshiny days in May, Rendez-vous attendees stroll from the Halifax Convention Centre to a nearby venue for lunch. Travel Alberta | travelalberta.com Western Newfoundland DMO newfoundlandlabrador.com/western NTAonline.com 15