Courier August/September Courier - Page 10

VOICES OF LEADERSHIP NTA BOARD OF DIRECTORS Executive Committee Chair J. Chris Babb The Group Tour Company chris@grouptourcompany.com Pam Inman President 101 Prosperous Place, Suite 350 Lexington, KY 40509 USA +1.859.264.6551 pam.inman@ntastaff.com NIMBY. In case you don’t know, the acronym stands for Not in My Backyard. You hear it voiced during discussions about where to put a new prison, a halfway house or even immigrants coming into a country. Everyone thinks it a good idea as long as they don’t have to face it in their community every day. Our industry is facing a bit of a NIMBY mindset as cities confront overtourism: Communities that promoted and worked hard to get visitors are now feeling crowded out. Some of you might be facing this issue where you live, but I’m guessing most are still working hard to increase visitation. I’ve spent some of the summer IMBY—not literally my backyard since I live in two con- dos—exploring treasures that are right under my nose but had escaped my attention. It reminds me that I don’t have to travel half- way around the world to experience some truly remarkable places. The first one was Equus Run Vineyards in Midway, Kentucky, right outside of Lexington. The winery was started 20 years ago by an IBM executive who decided to come home to her Kentucky roots and establish some new ones of her own. I loved her spirit, her enthusiasm and yes, of course … her wine! It’s as good as any California wine I’ve ever tasted, and the tour was a true winemaking lesson, not just a tasting. The next adventure was completely dif- ferent. Believe it or not, in all my years liv- ing in Washington, D.C., I had never been to Gettysburg, so after visiting friends in Pennsylvania, I decided that a stop there was a must. What a moving experience to imagine what it must have been like for the soldiers on both sides—sweltering heat, despair, so many wounded and dead. It was another reminder of the sacrifices that soldiers and families make and how grateful I am for their gift to us. Summer is a busy time for all of you, but I hope you have time to have an adventure in your backyard. Your NTA Board of Directors has a meeting in Ottawa, hosted by Ottawa Tourism (thanks, Kelly Dean), and we’re sure to discover new things there. But the main purpose is to take the information you provided to Minding Your Business (our convention consultant) and bring new ideas forward for Travel Exchanges in the future. We’ve already made changes to Milwaukee, which we’ll highlight in TREXpress. If you’re not registered, make sure you do so before Sept. 7, when the appoint- ment request system opens. Happy traveling! Vice Chair Paul Larsen Ed-Ventures pcl@ed-ventures.com Secretary Dennis McDonnell Alaska Coach Tours dennis@alaskacoachtours.com Immediate Past Chair Jay Smith Sports Travel and Tours jay@sportstravelandtours.com DMO Director Frances Manzitto Visit Clarksville frances@visitclarksvilletn.com Tour Supplier Director Jim Magrath Delta Air Lines jim.magrath@delta.com Directors Jennifer Adu Wyoming Office of Tourism jennifer.adu@wyo.gov Debra Asberry Women Traveling Together debra@women-traveling.com Dan Flores Maverick Aviation Group dflores@maverickaviationgroup.com Edita Krunic Select International Tours edita@select-intl.com Cory Mace North Central Group – Hilton & Marriott Hotels cmace@ncghotels.com John McGlade Euro River Cruises jmcglade@eurorivercruises.com Dave Nitkiewicz Experience Grand Rapids dnitkiewicz@experiencegr.com Chase Poffenberger Academic Travel Abroad cpoffenberger@academic-travel.com Jerry Varner Making Memories Tours jerry@makingmemoriestours.com Jim Warren, CTP Anderson Vacations jwarren@andersonvacations.ca Director at Large Equus Run Vineyards in Midway, Kentucky 6 August/September 2018 Kelly Dean Ottawa Tourism kdean@ottawatourism.ca