Consumer Bankruptcy Journal Fall 2015 - Page 46

NACBA Announcements NACBA State Chair Vacancy Pennsylvania (Western): Please contact NACBA via admin@nacba. org if interested in serving as Pennsylvania Co-Chair. Please welcome John Rogers as the new NACBA State Chair for Kentucky. Please welcome Ken Love as the new NACBA State Chair for North Carolina. Upcoming NACBA Webinars Trustee) & Walter Oney, Esq. *** Recording & materials available (via email following day) to those who are unable to attend live presentation. Must register by 11/19/15. $25 Members / $75 Non Member. Beyond Confidentiality: Bankruptcy Attorneys and Security Best Practices Wednesday, December 9, 2015, 60 minutes, 3 PM Eastern / 2PM Central / 1PM Mountain / 12 PM Pacific, Presented by: Catherine Sanders Reach, Director, Law Practice Management & Technology, Chicago Bar Association FREE Members / $49 Non Member. “Take My House, Please!” Getting Rid of Encumbered Property in Consumer Cases “Modernized” Bankruptcy Forms Webinar: Full overview on what Official Bankruptcy Forms will be replaced with substantially revised, reformatted and renumbered versions effective December 1, 2015. For Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys by Consumer Bankruptcy Attorneys. The 60 minute webinar will take place on Thursday, November 19, 2015, 3 PM Eastern / 2PM Central / 1PM Mountain / 12 PM Pacific, Presented by: Norma Hammes, Esq., Carey Ebert, Esq., (United States Chapter 7 & 13 46 CONSUMER BANKRUPTCY JOURNAL Surrendering real property in a consumer case does not necessarily end the debtor’s obligations with regard to the property if the mortgage lender does not promptly complete foreclosure. The debtor may face continuing burdens of ownership, including post-petition fees and assessments charged by a homeowner’s, condominium, or cooperative association and compliance with local laws requiring maintenance and upkeep of the property. The discussion w