College Columns December 2018 - Page 15


Focus on Fellows

We invite all Fellows to submit information about awards, news, and/or recent publications. Member highlights will be published on a bi-monthly basis to all Fellows through email or the College Columns as appropriate. If you have news about yourself or a colleague, please send announcements to Carole McNamara, ACB Communications Director, at

Donald S. Bernstein (Davis, Polk & Wardwell LLP, New York) and Prof. Mark J. Roe (Harvard Law School, Cambridge) testified before the Senate Judiciary Committee at its November 13th hearing on bankruptcy reform and the 10-year anniversary of the largest bankruptcy of all times, Lehman Brothers.

Douglas C. Bernstein (Plunkett Cooney, Bloomfield Hills, MI) received the Top Lawyer honor from DBusiness.

George Cauthen (Nelson Mullins, Columbia) has been honored as the 2018 recipient of the Bankruptcy Inn Alliance Distinguished Service Award presented by the American Inns of Court. The award recognizes the recipient’s ongoing dedication to the highest standards of the legal profession, the rule of law and the demonstration of personal ethics and integrity. The award was presented to Cauthen at the 2018 Annual Conference of the National Conference of Bankruptcy Judges held on October 28-31, 2018.

Michael P. Coury (Glankler Brown, PLLC, Memphis) has been named a Fellow of the Memphis Bar Foundation, the philanthropic arm of the Memphis Bar Association. Its mission is to promote philanthropy and encourage and recognize professionalism among members of the Bar.

As of January, Steven Cousins – the first African-American attorney, partner and Executive Committee member at Armstrong Teasdale – will set out on his own as president and CEO of Cousins Allied Strategic Advisors.

Lisa Donahue (AlixPartners, New York) was inducted into the TMA Turnaround, Restructuring & Distressed Industry Hall of Fame on September 27, 2018. Established by the TMA in 2008, the Hall of Fame’s mission is to honor and preserve the names of those whose outstanding individual contributions have increased the stature and respect of an industry dedicated to stabilizing underperforming companies, rebuilding corporate value, and retaining jobs. The TMA bestows this honor only once every five years.

Randall S. Eisenberg (AlixPartners, New York) was recognized on September 26th with the TMA "Mega Company Turnaround of the Year" award, for his role as Chief Restructuring Officer (CRO) of Caesars Entertainment Operating Company Inc.

Holly Etlin (AlixPartners, New York) was recognized on September 26th with the TMA "Large Company Turnaround of the Year" award, for her role as CRO of BCBG Max Azria Group LLC.

On December 11, Richard Levin (Jenner & Block, New York) will present Recent Developments in Bankruptcy Law, a webinar on recent decisions of interest to the lending community. Click here to register for the webcast.

Baker Donelson has elected Timothy M. Lupinacci (Birmingham) to serve as the Firm's next chairman and chief executive officer. He will assume the role in late April 2019.

In recognition of outstanding contributions to and many years of experience in his profession, Hon. Robert D. Martin (Madison, WI) has been presented with the Marquis Who's Who Lifetime Achievement Award.