Clearview South July 2014 - Issue 152 - Page 3

JULY CONTENTS SOUTH » ISSUE 152 » 42 DOORS & WINDOWS » 62 FIT SHOW REVIEW » 88 INSTALLER SUPPORT » 100 HARDWARE & SECURITY » 106 BUSINESS NEWS 8 CPA’s optimist outlook on economy The CPA’s barometer on the economy has proved right before: Director Jeremy Brett says they are optimistic, though ‘certain processes may never be the same again.’ 62 Tears of joy for Yes duo! There were tears of joy as Paul Casbolt and Karl Kinsey of Yes Glazing Solutions were declared winners of the Master Fitter Challenge, in association with FENSA. Sharing a cash prize of £5,000, Paul and Karl proved that they were masters of their craft. 76 A new chapter for Pilkington United Kingdom Ltd After some tough decisions have had to be taken in recent years, Andy McDowell, Commercial Director, looks ahead as a new chapter unfolds for Pilkington United Kingdom Ltd. 20 Fire-resistant glazing’s new standard The GGF’s FRGG has published the new standard for fireresistant glazing – Giles Willson, Technical Director, outlines what this means for the industry and GGF members. 100 Taking the guesswork out of choosing Multi-Point Locks The new Multi-Point Lock Selector from Aldridge Security takes the guesswork out of finding the right Multi-Point Lock. 40 46 Mandatory CE marking is a complex issue but is really just a passport for technical data, says Nick Cooper, Technical Director at AluK. A new centre of excellence in Cumbernauld which will showcase doors and windows and other energy saving products, has been warmly welcomed by the industry. A passport for technical data Group Editor Patricia Gwynnette pat@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Editor Becky Taylor becky@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Going Green in Cumbernauld Sales & Marketing Manager Diana Durmaz diana@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Sales Executive Andy Davies andy@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Director Rob Exley rob@clearview-uk.com Director Ian Wilkinson ian@clearview-uk.com Production Tom Cartledge tom@clearview-uk.com Administration Joann Crossley joann@clearview-uk.com Press Releases PR Inbox pr@clearview-uk.com Director Steve Sidebottom steve@clearview-uk.com Finance Director Ryan Exley ryan@clearview-uk.com Production Assistant Charlotte Armstrong charlotte@clearview-uk.com Administration Emma Goodinson emma@clearview-uk.com Fax Your Enquiry 01226 730 825 All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronically or mechanically without the consent of Clearview Publications. Whilst every effort is made to ensure accuracy, this publication does not accept liability for errors, printing or otherwise appearing in this publication. The views expressed by contributors are not necessarily those of the editor or publisher. Clearview distribute 12,682 trade magazines monthly, three titles covering the North & Scotland, the Midlands & Wales and the South. ISSN 1745-0985 To read more, visit www.clearview-uk.com Accounts Enquiries Sharon Watson sharon@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 All Other Enquiries 01226 321 450 Head Office Unit 2-3 Burleigh Court, Burleigh Street, Barnsley, S70 1XY Follow us on Twitter @clearviewmag JUL 2014 3