Clearview South August 2013 - Issue 141 - Page 3

SOUTH » ISSUE 141 AUGUST CONTENTS 24 Free acoustic calculator attracts new members One of the most useful tools for acoustic calculations available! 20 INDUSTRY NEWS » 40 HERITAGE » 44 GLASS & SEALED UNITS » 55 HARDWARE & SECURITY » 67 BUSINESS » 78 INSTALLER SUPPORT 26 Don’t get caught with your trousers down Phoenix Door Panels warns many installers could be unprepared. The Glazing Vault offers a variety of ‘off the shelf ’ solutions. Richard Christie advises BBC2 consumer rights programme on condensation in conservatories. 31 Step into the digital age 52 Don’t get done get Dom 06 Standing out from the crowd In an age where we all conform to every new standard how do we truly stand apart? The team at Dual Aspect Glass has a simple business plan that is achieving results. 64 It all hinges on specification Ben Penson explains how choice of hinge plays an important part in meeting PAS 24 standards. 84 Inherently lazy or badly managed? What is it that could be making the UK less productive? 18 Seeing the bigger picture Andrew Jenner, product manager of warm edge spacer manufacturer, Technoform Glass Insulation, discusses the ‘bigger picture’ of energy efficiency. 28 Not so run-of-themill installation No-one knows better that no two jobs are the same than Wakefield-based Bennion & Sons, as they were recently asked to do an installation on a rather unusual property. Group Editor Patricia Gwynnette pat@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Director Rob Exley rob@clearview-uk.com Director Steve Sidebottom steve@clearview-uk.com Editor Becky Taylor becky@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Director Ian Wilkinson ian@clearview-uk.com Finance Director Ryan Exley ryan@clearview-uk.com Sales & Marketing Manager Diana Durmaz diana@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Sales Executive Andy Davies andy@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 Press Releases PR Inbox pr@clearview-uk.com Fax Your Enquiry 01226 730 825 Accounts Enquiries Sharon Watson sharon@clearview-uk.com 01226 321 450 All Other Enquiries 01226 321 450 Head Office Office F2, Holme Suite, Oaks Business Park, Oaks Lane, Barnsley S71 1HT Production Tom Cartledge tom@clearview-uk.com Production Assistant Charlotte Armstrong charlotte@clearview-uk.com Administration Joann Crossley joann@clearview-uk.com Administration Emma Goodinson emma@clearview-uk.com All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronically or mechanically without the consent of Clearview Publications. Whilst every effort is made to ensure accuracy, this publication does not accept liability for errors, printing or otherwise appearing in this publication. The views expressed by contributors are not necessarily those of the editor or publisher. Clearview distribute 12,682 trade magazines monthly, three titles covering the North & Scotland, the Midlands & Wales and the South. ISSN 1745-0985 Follow us on Twitter @clearviewmag To read more, visit www.clearview-uk.com AUG 2013 3