Canadian Musician - November/December 2017 - Page 14

CHANGES Lido Pimienta Wins 2017 Polaris Music Prize On Sept. 18 th , Colombian-Canadian electronic musician Lido Pimienta was awarded the 2017 Polaris Music Prize for the album La Papessa. It marks the first time a Spanish-lan- guage album has won the award, which goes to the best Canadian album of the year based on artistic merit without regard to genre, sales history, or label affiliation “Not in English, not in French. But we’re here,” said Pimienta after accepting the award, while also using the stage to challenge white supremacy in Canada. La Papessa was re- leased independently on Pimienta’s own label and beat out albums by higher profile artists like Feist, Gord Downie, and Leonard Cohen. For more information, go to THE award goes to... Polaris Heritage Prize Winners Revealed The Polaris Music Prize has announced the winning albums for the 2017 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize. The winners were chosen from four short lists, each representing a different musical era prior to the first Polaris Music Prize in 2006, which were curated by a Heritage Prize jury of music historians and music media. Two winners for each era were chosen, one by public vote and one by the jury. This year’s winners are: 1960-1975 - Gordon Lightfoot’s Lightfoot! (public) and The Band’s self-titled (jury); 1976-1985 - Harmonium’s L’Heptade (public) and Glenn Gould’s Bach: The Goldberg Variations (jury); 1986-1995 - The Tragically Hip’s Fully Completely (public) and Eric’s Trip’s Love Tara (jury); 1996-2005 - Feist’s Let It Die (public) and k-os’s Joyful Rebellion (jury). For more information, go to BRETT KISSEL AT THE 2017 CCMA AWARDS Dallas Smith, Brett Kissel & Meaghan Patrick Win Big at CCMA Awards The 2017 Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) Awards were given out on Sept. 9-10, 2017 in Saskatoon, SK. Dallas Smith took home Album of the Year for the second time in his career, in addition to also winning Single of the Year. Brett Kissel took home Male Artist of the Year for the second year in a row, along with Video of the Year. Newcomer Meaghan Patrick won both Female Artist of the Year and the SiriusXM Rising Star Award while The Road Hammers were named Group or Duo of the Year for the third time in their career. For a full list of winners, go to PAUL BRANDT AT THE WCMAS Stompin’ Tom to Be Inducted into Canada’s Walk of Fame The late Stompin’ Tom Connors is among the six honourees who’ll be inducted into Can- ada’s Walk of Fame STOMPIN’ TOM CONNORS on Nov. 15, 2017, at the Liberty Grand Theatre in Toronto. At the same ceremony, pop s