Canadian Musician - March / April 2018 - Page 16

CHANGES Junos to Recognize Gary Slaight with 2018 Humanitarian Award Colin James a Triple Winner at 21 st Maple Blues Awards Steven Page to Join Barenaked Ladies for Canadian Music Hall of Fame Induction Denise Donlon to Receive 2018 Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award Music industry veteran Denise Donlon will be awarded the 2018 Walt Grealis Special Achievement Award for her longstanding commitment to Canadian music. The award recognizes industry leaders who have contrib- uted greatly to the growth and development of the Canadian music industry. The award will be presented at the Juno Gala Dinner and Awards on March 24, 2018 in Vancouver. With a career spanning close to 40 years, Donlon has been an integral part of Canada’s music scene. Recognized for rising through the ranks at MuchMusic, Donlon transformed the cultural landscape as host, producer, director of programming, and later VP and general manager. She then became the first female president of Sony Music Canada, where she worked alongside many of the country’s biggest artists. Her passion for Cana- dian cultural expression was further realized as executive director and then GM of CBC/ Radio-Canada English Radio. For more information, go to The 21 st annual Maples Blues Awards were handed out on Jan. 15 th at Koerner Hall in Toronto. The night’s only multi-award winner was blues guitarist, singer, and songwriter Colin James, who took home three honours for Electric Act and Guitarist of the Year, as well as Recording/Producer of the Year alongside Dave Meszaros for his album Blue Highways. Entertainer of the Year went to Montreal’s Paul DesLauriers Band and Big Dave McLean won for Acoustic Act of the Year. Hamilton, ON’s Harrison Kennedy won Songwriter of the Year and Matt Andersen was named Male Vocalist of the Year. Female Vocalist of the Year went to Angel Forrest. Ottawa’s Laura Greenberg won for Bassist of the Year and Victoria, BC’s Jason Buie was named New Artist of the Year. The lifetime achievement honour, called the Blues With a Feeling Award, was given to Toronto-based Diana Braithwaite for her long career and commitment to blues music in Canada. For a full list of nominees and winners, go to DENISE DONLON CARAS and CBC have announced that the 2018 inductees into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame (CMHF) will be the Barenaked Ladies – Ed Robertson, Jim STEVEN PAGE Creeggan, Kevin Hearn and Tyler Stew- art – alongside original member, co-founder, and singer-songwriter Steven Page. The band celebrates their 30 th anniversary this year, marking three decades as one of Canada’s most celebrated collectives, earning eight Juno Awards, two Billboard Music Awards, and multiple Grammy nominations. Barenaked Ladies will come together for a one-time special appearance with Page during the Juno Awards Broadcast to mark their induction; however, it’s not yet known if they will perform together. For more information, go to 16 • C A N A D I A N M U S I C I A N COLIN JAMES WITH MONKEYJUNK’S STEVE MARRINER CARAS has announced that broadcast and music indus- try leader and philanthropist Gary Slaight will be honoured with the 2018 Humanitarian GARY SLAIGHT Award on March 24 th during the Juno Gala Dinner & Awards. Slaight Music is responsible for the creation of the It’s Your Shot artist develop- ment competition, as well as the Canadian Radio Music Awards. His efforts also led to the development of The Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize, The Slaight Family Music Lab at the Canadian Film Centre, and other awards and initiatives. Recent Slaight Family Foundation initia- tives Ց耐4ѼٔQɽѼݸ)ѽݸх́ѼɽٔѠ͕٥(4Ѽ͕ٕ9=́Ѽɕ͔ѡȁ)Ѽɕ́ѕɹѥՕٕ́)!%X%Lյɥ͔́ɽش)ѡٕЁݽɱ(4Ѽāѥɥѥ́ѥ)ѡѡ䁑ٕЁɕɽ) 쁅ȁѼԁеȵɽ)ɝѥ́ݽɭѼɽٔѡͤ)хͽݕ e)%́ձѥ̸)ȁɔɵѥѼ)ܹչ݅ɑ̹) I9-1%