Canadian Musician - July/August 2017 - Page 15

… For the first time in the history of the International Songwriting Competition (ISC), the grand prize has been awarded to Canadian songwriters. Winnipeg trou- badour Matt Epp and Morocco-born, Manitoba-raised 16-year-old Faouzia won for their co-written song “The Sound.” Now in its 16 th year, the ISC is the world’s largest international songwriting competition, receiving more than 16,000 entries from 137 countries throughout the world. The Grand Prize winners take home $25,000 USD in cash and over $45,000 in additional prizes. AND THE WINNER Is... Emerging country star Meghan Patrick was the star of the show at the 2017 Country Music Association of Ontario (CMAO) Awards, held in London, ON on June 11 th . Patrick took home four awards for Album, Female Artist, Music Video, and Rising Star of the Year. The Single of the Year award went to River Town Saints for “Cherry Bomb” and Songwriter of the Year went to Deric Ruttan and Craig Wiseman for co-writing Blake Shelton’s hit “Came Here to Forget.” Tim Hicks won Male Artist of the Year. For a full list of winners, go to MEGHAN PATRICK Alberta Music and country music radio station Wild 953 have announced this year’s Top 12 artists for Project WILD. A professional development program designed to educate, promote, develop, and launch the careers of some of Alberta’s up and coming country and roots artists, the Top 12 announcement kicks off the Project’s second year. The 2017 Project WILD Top 12 artists are: Andrea Nixon, Brad Saunders, Charlie James, Dustin Farr, Karac Hendriks, Lucas Chaisson, Lucette, Mark Times, Mikaila Cooper, Nice Horse, Ryan Langlois, and Tanya Ryan. Project WILD is part of a seven-ye "CB֖Ɩ&w&FW6vVBF67F'BFRFW"ЦFW626&VW'2bF&VRVW&vr&W'F'F7G2VǒBvfR&7BFF"fƗ7G26VV7FVB'GW7G'W'FRF66&R2CÓS2CsRf"6V6@&RBCSF&B&Rf"&Rf&FvFwwr&V7GvF6VG'6rrr2BR224Р&V7BtBF"fƗ7G2&WfVV@#b$T5BtBtU%2DRETt$TU02BR22( "P