Business Leader Sept - Dec South West 2018 - Page 3

FROM THE EDITOR 18 DON’T MENTION THE ‘B WORD’ Dear reader, You’re probably fed up of hearing about Brexit (yes, there it is, I said it) but there is no doubt that it’s important for us all to consider the impact a good or bad deal will have on businesses in the UK. To help give you an update on how things are progressing, there is a feature on page 14. Intrinsically linked to Brexit is of course international trade and deeper exploration of international markets will be key to ensuring the success of UK plc. 22 32 And finally – you can see who the winners of the prestigious 2018 Business Leader Awards were in our event review insert. As ever, we hope you enjoy this edition of Business Leader Magazine. If you would like to get involved or have any news you would like to share, please contact us on 0117 325 7779 or email: editor@businessleader.co.uk In this issue... Latest News Interview: Rob Perks Cover Story - Andrew Baxter Brexit - Feature Business Trip - China Ones to Watch - Offsite Solutions Mergers & Acquisitions Interview: Mark Nutter Sector Report: Prop Tech Commercial Property Review Regional Focus: Bristol Arena Top 20 Influencers Debate: Family Business My Working Day In this edition we look at how China is set to become the world’s leading economy and profile some of the region’s companies successfully trading there (page 18). Family business (page 44) and the converging world of property and technology (page 28) are also featured in this edition. 4 8 10 14 16 20 22 26 28 32 38 40 44 48 Yours sincerely, Oli Ballard – Editor EDITORIAL Oli Ballard - Editor editor@businessleader.co.uk Darren Wood - Assistant Editor darren.wood@businessleader.co.uk Barney Cotton - Assistant Editor barney.cotton@businessleader.co.uk DESIGN & PRODUCTION Adam Whittaker - Head Designer adam.whittaker@businessleader.co.uk BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Sam Clark - Business Dev. Manager sam.clark@businessleader.co.uk WEB Melissa Larkin - Website Development melissa.larkin@businessleader.co.uk CIRCULATION Alex Tremlett - Circulation Manager alex.tremlett@businessleader.co.uk ACCOUNTS Jo Meredith - Account Manager jo.meredith@businessleader.co.uk DIRECTOR Andrew Scott - Managing Director andrew@businessleader.co.uk Advertise with Business Leader today by calling 0117 325 7779 | businessleader.co.uk Business Leader - The magazine for entrepreneurs & business leaders 1