BellTime Magazine Spring 2018 BellTime 9-5 - Page 10

BellTIME Where can I Study? Erasmus+ in Higher Education Since the creation of the Erasmus programme in 1987, the European Commission has supported in excess of three million students to take part in study or traineeship mobilities. Such is the success of the programme that the name Erasmus is now synonymous with study abroad! For those who embark on a study abroad mobility or traineeship, not only does it present an opportunity to expand their academic horizons, the programme also offers participants a unique cultural & social experience. And students do not need to be proficient in foreign languages as many institutions offer courses through the medium of English. In an ever-evolving job market, the addition of a period of study or work placement abroad is invaluable. Erasmus+ graduates bring with them valuable market knowledge and a demonstrated ability to work and prosper in a multicultural & international environment. If you are looking to combine education, travel, culture and life experience, Erasmus+ will surely have something to suit you- so go on, create your own adventure! 18 Why should I go on Erasmus+? The aim of Erasmus+ is to combine an educational, cultural & life experience whilst boosting your CV and future employability. The programme presents an opportunity to meet new people, experience a new educational environment and of course have a great time! And going on Erasmus+ does not mean extra time in college – you will simply spend between 3 and 12 months studying or working abroad as part of your studies. Launch of Erasmus 30th anniversary commemorative banners which were be displayed around Dublin city centre in May 2017, with the then Lord Mayor, Brendan Carr and HEA staff Gemma Irvine, Neil Tynan and Mariana Reis Excluding Ireland, there are 32 participating European countries- Belgium, Greece, Lithuania, Portugal, Bulgaria, Spain, Luxembourg, Romania, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Slovenia, Denmark, Croatia, Malta, Slovakia, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Finland, Estonia, Cyprus, Austria, Sweden, Latvia, Poland, United Kingdom, Macedonia, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, Turkey. 3rd class from Our Lady of Victories Boys’ National School, Ballymun, Dublin at the opening of the Erasmus Learning Area, National Botanic Gard