Arctic Yearbook 2015 - Page 83

83 Arctic Yearbook 2015 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7. 8. 9. 10. 11. 12. transfer autonomy and authority to new structures of governance—suggests the creation of new and/or the solidification of existing (but abstract) boundaries: while Indigenous traditional lands and territories are bounded conceptually, the modern land claim process institutionalized these boundaries within western legal and political traditions. This paper does not cover all the possible ways and forms that local mobilization engages in processes of regionalization, and there may be opportunities to better tease out ‘traditional’ regionalism from processes that occur under ‘indigenous regionalism / self-governance’. The Inuit Circumpolar Council, the Aleut International Association, the Arctic Athabaskan Council, the Gwich’in Council International, the Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North, and the Saami Council. Alaska has 229 federally recognized tribes. To date, only the Deline community self-government agreement has been finalized, though the other communities within the boundaries of the regional land claim are currently in negotiations. In their paper, Alcantara & Wilson define intra-jurisdictional relations as the “relationships between separate governance bodies within a single jurisdictional unit” (45). Thus, these relationships operate in a clear geographical and regional location. A 13th corporation was also created for Alaska Natives no longer residing in the state. As such, it is not a “regional corporation” as its endowment did not include a geographical unit within the state of Alaska. By May 17, 1967 the following claims (Native Protests) had been made to the Department of the Interior: (1) Mentasta; (2) Gulkana; (3) Copper Centre; (4) Yakataga; (5) Lake Aleknagik; (6) Stevens Village; (7) Birch Creek; (8) Minto; (9) Nenana; (10) Tanacross; (11) Prince William Sound; (12) Anvik; (13) Northway; (14) Chilkoot; (15) Cantwell; (16) St. George Island; (17) Eklutna; (1 H