Arctic Yearbook 2015 - Page 443

443 Arctic Yearbook 2015 Notes 1. The International Polar Commission included the Austro-Hungarian Empire, the Dominion of Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden, the United Kingdom and the United States. 2. However, with the creation of the Arctic Environmental Protection Strategy (AEPS) in 1991 the Regional Board soon lost its main rationale and while its meetings contributed to exchange of information between key Arctic science managers, eventually the Board decided to disband in 2008 (Rogne et al. 2015). 3. In 2010 the IASC Council decided, in order to best harness capacities and expertise of its members, to come back to the originally prescribed structure, finalize the ongoing projects and replace them with the thematically divided working groups listed above. 4. The idea of ACIA was brought to attention of the Arctic Council by Robert Corell, who at that time was the IASC representative to the Arctic Council as Chair of the IASC Regional Board. During the first US chairmanship of the AC (1998-2000) he presented to the Council a proposal of a comprehensive assessment of climate change in the Arctic