APD Annual Reports - 2018 Annual Report - Page 22

Recognition & Accomplishments Arlington PD Crime Lab & Crime Scene Unit received accreditation from the ANAB/ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board. This is a renewal of one of the highest levels of forensic investigation and laboratory work in the nation. This accreditation requires an extensive and thorough evaluation of the unit’s management system, technical procedures, and practices. Police Chief Will Johnson was sworn in as the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) Vice President at Large in October 2018. Corporal Jonathan Patterson was awarded the Honor Guard Member of the Year. Deputy Chief Jim Lowery was awarded the Arlington Highlands Rotary Vocational Excellence Award – Officer of the Year. 22 | 2018 Annual Report United States Attorney General Jeff Sessions announced in late November 2017 that the Arlington Police Department would be a recipient of grant funding for 15 additional officers through the Department of Justice’s Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS Office) Hiring Program. Arlington was one of 179 law enforcement agencies across the nation selected to hire additional community policing officers. Detective Troy Medina received the Honor Guard Sergeant’s Award for his contributions to the unit. Two officers were honored by Texas Governor Greg Abbott and received the Star of Texas Award. These awards honor First Responders who are seriously injured or killed in the line of duty. Corporal William Brewer and Officer Carla Strauser were recipients of the award. Corporal Brewer was shot during a search warrant execution. Officer Strauser was injured while investigating a vehicle crash.