Annual Report 2015 - Page 2

About the college Medical Regulation in Ontario 2 and the Medicine Act. The Council is the governing body of the College. The RHPA stipulates that it consist of at least 32 and no more than 34 members: • 16 physicians elected by their peers on a geographical basis every three years; • three physicians appointed from among the six faculties of medicine (at Western University, McMaster University, University of Toronto, Queen’s University, University of Ottawa, and the Northern Ontario School of Medicine); • 15 non-physician or public members appointed by the provincial government for terms decided by the government. COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS AND SURGEONS OF ONTARIO photo: D.W.Dorken T he College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) regulates the province’s medical profession to protect and serve the public interest. We issue certificates of registration to allow doctors to practise medicine; monitor and maintain standards of practice through assessment; investigate complaints against doctors on behalf of the public; and discipline doctors who have committed an act of professional misconduct or who are incompetent. Medical regulation is based on the premise that the College must act first and foremost in the interest of the public. The role of the College, as well as our authority and powers, are set out in the Regulated Health Professions Act (RHPA), the Health Professions Procedural Code under the RHPA