American Motorcycle Dealer AMD 222 January 2018 - Page 12

J&P Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show winners at Long Beach, New York and Minneapolis The first three Progressive International Motorcycle Shows (IMS) of the seven city 2017/2018 winter tour series, featuring the J&P Cycles Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Shows, yielded the usual crop of top class winners who will now go forward to the February Chicago finals for a share of a total series cash and contingency prize fund estimated to be worth some $100,000. Before this year’s series got underway, Zach Parham, President of J&P Cycles said: “As the leader in helping riders customize their motorcycles, all of us at J&P Cycles are stoked to present the Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Show (UBCBS) and recognize the amazing work of America’s bike builders.” Another highlight at the shows this year is Grease & Gears Garage, presented by Cycle Source Magazine. The feature will see a line-up of live demonstrations from “top custom motorcycle builders and craftsmen in the industry, providing an inside look at custom building and motorcycle repair techniques including how to build custom exhausts, rebuilding carburettors, upgrading controls and frame fabrication.” Cycle Source Editor-in-Chief and publisher Chris Callan said: “We are thrilled that we have the opportunity to bring Grease & Gears Garage to IMS for the 2017-18 tour. “This is an important time in custom motorcycling and to be able to showcase some of the most talented Motorcycle Builders and Wrenches across the seven shows. The winner from each city moves on to compete in the championship round, which takes place February 9-11 in Chicago, IL. Results following the first three rounds are as follows: LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA, NOVEMBER 17-19 Freestyle Winner: Ryan McQuiston, 1941 Flathead 45” Freestyle Runner Up: Christian Sosa, Sosa Metalworks, 1946 Knucklehead Bobber Modified Harley-Davidson Winner: Doug Ide, Ide Innovations, 2009 Road King Modified Harley-Davidson Runner Up: Samual Kao, JSK Moto Co., 1997 XL1200 Modified Retro Winner: Tom Daly, 1976 Triumph built by David Bird Modified Retro Runner Up: Taber Nash, Nash Motorcycle Co. Custom Street Winner: Dale Crawford, Motone, UK, 2006 Triumph Hardtail Bobber Custom Street Runner Up: Dale Crawford, Motone, UK, 2009 Triumph Bonneville Cafe Racer across the country on an educational and entertaining platform is exciting for the industry as a whole. “We hope that by offering these live demonstrations and tutorials we will give new and experienced motorcyclists not only the knowledge, but the excitement that comes along with doing it yourself.” Over the course of the live demonstrations, the team will work toward building a custom Harley- Davidson FXR named “The War Pony.” The demonstrations have been taking place in every city and are being streamed through the official IMS Facebook page. The J&P Ultimate Builder Custom Bike Shows feature four classes – Freestyle, Custom Street, Modified Harley (presented by Harley-Davidson) and Modified Retro. The competition expects over 350 builders to enter NEW YORK, DECEMBER 1-3 Freestyle Winner: Kyle Shorey, Shadetree Fabrications, Custom Shovelhead Chopper Freestyle Runner Up: Rob Lopez, American Motorcycle Service, 2017 Custom Chopper Panhead Modified Harley-Davidson Winner: Tyler Foster, SikPipes, 2001 Road King Modified Harley-Davidson Runner Up: Robert Salle, A&J Cycles, 2007 Sportster Modified Retro Winner: Scott Porges, American Motorcycle Service, 1968 H-D custom Modified Retro Runner Up: Legion Cycle Works, 1979 Honda CB750 Custom Street Winner: Brian Ballard, A&J Cycles, 2007 Triumph Thruxton Custom Street Runner Up: Jason Hodrinsky, 2004 Triumph Thunderbird Sport MINNEAPOLIS, DECEMBER 8-10 Freestyle Winner: Dana Hallberg, Deadline Customs, 2017 Misfit Industries frame Road King style Bagger Freestyle Runner Up: Todd Gilby, Gilby’s Street Dept., 2005 H-D 2-wheel custom hot rod Modified Harley-Davidson Winner: Rick Ward, Ward Performance, 2009 Dyna Modified Harley-Davidson Runner Up: Brian Klock, Klock Werks Kustom Cycles, 2004 Heritage Modified Retro Winner: Matt Anderson, Gilby’s Street Dept., 1982 FXRS Modified Retro Runner Up: Chris Rotondo/Breanne Allen, The Moto Collective, 1972 Honda CL350 Custom Street Winner: Vanessa Nay, 2017 Triumph Bonneville T120 Custom Street Runner Up: Bill Lawson, 2013 Yamaha XT250 Long Beach - Modified Retro Winner: Tom Daly, 1976 Triumph built by David Bird >> Long Beach - Freestyle Winner: Ryan McQuiston, 1941 Flathead 45” >> Long Beach - Modified Harley Winner: Doug Ide, Ide Innovations, 2009 Road King >> 12 AMERICAN MOTORCYCLE DEALER - JANUARY 2018