Activity Guide Spring/Summer 2019 - Page 2

PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE Summer is my favorite time of year in Glen Ellyn , filled with special events, summer camps, trips to the pool, picnics in the parks, and of course, the Fourth of July! ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Dave Harris, (630) 942-7255 SUPERINTENDENT OF FINANCE & PERSONNEL Nick Cinquegrani, (630) 942-7257 SUPERINTENDENT OF RECREATION Kathleen Esposito, (630) 942-7261 SUPERINTENDENT OF PARKS & PLANNING Dan Hopkins, (630) 942-7265 MARKETING SUPERVISOR Courtney O’Kray, (630) 942-7260 BOARD MEETINGS The Board meets on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month at the Spring Avenue Recreation Center, 185 Spring Avenue. Meetings begin at 7pm. Residents are encouraged to attend or to watch the meetings, which are streamed live on our website, at www.gepark.org/board-meetings. This summer will be especially fun because of the many activities scheduled to continue the Glen Ellyn Park District’s 100 Year Anniversary Celebration. Throughout the Activity Guide there are many new events introduced as part of the celebration. These include: Thirsty Thursday on the Deck, Summer Swim Jam, a throwback Movies in the Parks series, a Parent/Child Mini Golf Tournament, and more. These events are in addition to annual favorites including the Lake Ellyn Cardboard Regatta, Freedom Four™ 4-Mile Run, and Family Fun Night. There is something for everyone, and I hope you will join in the festivities. As we move into the summer, I am also very happy to report that the Park District will begin implementing major elements of the Ackerman Park Masterplan, which was based on community input. The improvements include substantial enhancements to the softball hub and field, the addition of an oversized synthetic turf field, the creation of a limestone walking/running path within lower Ackerman Park, and upgrades to the grading and drainage of the green space and athletic fields in lower Ackerman Park. Updates on this project will be posted to www.gepark.org/projects as they become available. As part of the District’s goal to be good stewards of the environment, the Park District will be planting 100 trees over the course of 2019 in honor of the anniversary and installing a new Centennial Garden in the circle drive at Lake Ellyn Park. Be sure to take the opportunity to learn more about the efforts the Park District is making in these areas by attending our Earth Day event on April 28, or one of our free Guided Nature or Spring Wildflower Walks. You can learn more about these events on pages 84-86. Lastly, I want to take this opportunity to thank the Glen Ellyn community for many years of incredible support and all the staff for their hard work over the years. I look forward to witnessing the future growth of the Glen Ellyn Park District, and I am confident that our strong foundation and plans will allow the Park District to thrive for years to come. Rob Weber Rob Weber, President, Glen Ellyn Park District Board of Commissioners MISSION STATEMENT The Glen Ellyn Park District is driven to foster diverse, community-based leisure opportunities, through a harmonious blend of quality recreation programs, facilities, and open space which will enhance the quality of life into the future. Rob Weber, President rweber@gepark.org Kathy Cornell kcornell@gepark.org 2 Michael Ward, Vice President mward@gepark.org Julia Nephew jnephew@gepark.org Alex Durham, Treasurer adurham@gepark.org Ben Stortz bstortz@gepark.org Chris Wilson cwilson@gepark.org