Activity Guide Spring/Summer 2018 - Page 2

PRESIDENT’S MESSAGE Spring is such a hopeful and beautiful season and I hope it finds you looking forward to spending a lot of time outdoors. The Glen Ellyn Park District has many outside activities and events planned this spring that give nature and our environment center stage. Please come enjoy beautiful sustainable areas and be inspired to rethink landscaping. The following events are free, but some require registration. Join us at the jewel of Glen Ellyn for Earth Day, April 22. Bring a picnic lunch to Lake Ellyn Park and tour the LEED-certified historic Boathouse and the woodland restoration area. You can even canoe and kayak on the lake. ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Dave Harris, (630) 942-7255 SUPERINTENDENT OF FINANCE & PERSONNEL Nick Cinquegrani, (630) 942-7257 SUPERINTENDENT OF RECREATION Kathleen Esposito, (630) 942-7261 SUPERINTENDENT OF PARKS & PLANNING Dan Hopkins, (630) 942-7265 MARKETING SUPERVISOR Courtney O’Kray, (630) 942-7260 BOARD MEETINGS Native plants and trees are the friendliest choices for our yards and for effective storm water control. If you want to learn how to begin to make your yard, garden, and our community healthier, attend the Native Plant Ideas seminar May 20. June 23 is the date for the Sustainable Yard Tour. Participants will learn how the correct landscaping choices can prevent flooding. Yards on the tour will also showcase kitchen garden and plant choices that attract birds and butterflies. Space is limited, so please register early. I want to close with a special thank you to the members of the Glen Ellyn Park District's Environmental Committee. They have amazing expertise in solving local environmental problems. Every one of us can contribute to a greener Glen Ellyn if we plant milkweed for monarchs, refill water bottles, stop idling our cars, landscape with rain gardens, stop the use of phosphates on our lawns, research alternatives to asphalt tar, recycle, and rethink what is a “pretty” lawn. We can make choices based on what is appropriate given the pollution and flooding this area has sustained in the recent past and will continue to suffer. In 2018 the Park District will emphasize our environmental initiatives and how we can do more with the help of all Glen Ellyn organizations and residents. Here’s to a greener and healthier Glen Ellyn! Julia Nephew, President, Glen Ellyn Park District Board of Commissioners The Board meets on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month at the Spring Avenue Recreation Center, 185 Spring Avenue. Meetings begin at 7pm. Residents are encouraged to attend or to watch the meetings, which are streamed live on our website, at www.gepark.org/board-meetings. MISSION STATEMENT Julia Nephew, President jnephew@gepark.org Rob Weber, Vice President rweber@gepark.org Chris Wilson, Treasurer cwilson@gepark.org Alex Durham adurham@gepark.org Ben Stortz bstortz@gepark.org Michael Ward mward@gepark.org The Glen Ellyn Park District is driven to foster diverse, community-based leisure opportunities, through a harmonious blend of quality recreation programs, facilities, and open space which will enhance the quality of life into the future. 2 Kathy Cornell kcornell@gepark.org