2019 Summer Brochure PDHP_Summer_2019_WEB_Final - Page 24

ParkSchool Successful Beginnings for a Bright Future WELCOME TO THE NEW PARKSCHOOL! Through extensive research and feedback from you, our loyal families, we have restructured our childhood enrichment programs into a streamlined age-based format. Taking the best of all our popular programs along with STREAM (Science, Technology, Recreation, Engineering, Art, and Mathematics) educational methods, we have created a curriculum that not only provides your child with a new level of learning and discovery, but also simplifies your day. OUR PHILOSOPHY We believe that creating a strong love of exploration and curiosity early in a child’s life establishes a pattern of lifelong learning. Success is measured by nurturing and celebrating each child’s individual development. We embrace experiential project-based activities that enable children to discover their true potential—methods that encourage them to question, explore, and discover. It is through ParkSchool’s unique blend of a supportive warm environment and discovery-based play that children can truly expand their imagination, acquire a confidence and inquisitiveness that allows them to establish a Successful Beginning for a Bright Future of Learning. PROGRESSIVE LEARNING BENEFITS • Exposure to Science, Technology, Recreation, Engineering, Art, and Mathematics (S.T.R.E.A.M) • Gain an appreciation for the natural world • Development of sensory, cognitive, and motor skills • Opportunity to cultivate meaningful friendships and peer collaboration • Attain independence through critical thinking and problem- solving skills • Build confidence through the exploration of self-expression and creativity ParkSchool prepares your child for the next important step. Ready…Set… Kindergarten! PARTNERING WITH PARENTS IN EDUCATION A partnership between you and our teachers sets up your child for success. We engage parents through in-person conversations, written updates, and an online platform to give you on-going insight into your child’s learning experience. Additional parent/teacher engagements include an informative parent meeting prior to the start of the program and an open house where you can view your child’s classroom environment. EDUCATIONAL TEAM Every child deserves a positive early learning experience in an environment that encourages self-expression and discovery. Combined, our teachers have dedicated over 100 years to the growth and development of children in the Highland Park community. Their experience and education make them uniquely qualified to create an ideal classroom environment; while giving you the comfort of knowing professionals are caring for and nurturing your child’s special qualities. Belle Kolman Ginny Schwalbach Meghan Meredith Amy Banner Lori Cohen ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF Recreation Supervisor II Cathy Fiori cfiori@pdhp.org Recreation Manager- Recreation & West Ridge Mariana Henriques mhenriques@pdhp.org Recreation Supervisor Natalie Liang nliang@pdhp.org Recreation Supervisor Sara Stanke sstanke@pdhp.org Naturalist Meghan Meredith mmeredith@pdhp.org Naturalist Amy Banner abanner@pdhp.org Natalie Thompson 24 Park District of Highland Park • 847.831.3810 • pdhp.org Theo Savini Samia Bokhari